Windows 8 Versus Windows 7: Game Performance, Benchmarked

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/windows-8-gaming-performance,3331.html

This is a good article for those not sure whether to switch to Windows 8. I have been using it for a while, and it does feel lighter at boot. I moved the desktop tile to the top, so I can get to the desktop with just a quick tap to the enter key.

In the summary it says “Aside from those couple of idiosyncrasies, performance under Windows 8 is indistinguishable from Windows 7. Any speed-up or slow-down would be almost impossible to identify during game play, and we expect compatibility issues to get patched quickly by game developers.”

So, it looks like there isn’t much of a problem switching to Windows 8. Currently the biggest problem is that we as humans don’t take change very well. However that does not affect gaming.

As a personal or business PC, I would still recommend to do the switch, however I would also recommend to invest time into learning the new “Windows Start Screen”, and the whole desktop in general. Even if you don’t have touch screen, the new start screen can be a big addition.

For example, I play video games, and I also use a ton of different programs for work. This makes usually my start menu quite long, and I have to scroll a lot to find the program that I want. With Windows 7 I started pinning to the start menu, and typing the name. Sometimes typing 4 letters of a program name is a lot faster than searching for it with the mouse (most of the time). With Windows 8, I was worried that my home screen was going to be super long. Well, it kind of was, but not for long. See, you can pin programs to the start screen, and you can also unpin them. That does not remove the shortcut from the Apps list, it just removes it from the Start Screen. So I removed everything that I don’t use often, I removed all Uninstall as well (I can still access them the “All Apps”), and I arranged my Start Screen putting the tiles I use the most in the first screen.

The end result is that my computer boots, it goes to the start screen and right from there I can click on the program that I need, be it MS Word, or a racing game.

I have some desktop icons, but honestly I am using them less and less, trying to leave my desktop uncluttered. Also, I have a pseudo Start Menu with all my Programs, but I haven’t used it in months, which means that the Start Screen is easier to use.

How long did it take me to organize my computer? Maybe 1 hour top.

Now, there is 1 thing I don’t like, which is the lack of a easy shutdown button, but there are some good articles online on how to do this

http://blog.laptopmag.com/how-to-shutdown-windows-8-in-just-one-click

http://www.howtogeek.com/77061/how-to-add-shutdown-restart-sleep-to-the-windows-8-metro-start-screen/

If you would like to comment, please refer to which section of the article you liked so I know you are not a spammer. Too many out there :)

